Tiny Pouch full of Fortune

IMG_4568

As I was spending dear time with my abuela, I noticed something unique on her kitchen counter. My aim was to pour myself a glass of water but a small white pouch with beans, nuts, and a coins of Israel caught my glance. In front, the word “Jerusalem” was imprinted in gold above a cross of the Christian faith. I questioned why the pouch was filled with beans and nuts of all things. I found it so random…when I asked my grandmother what is was she said, “it was a bag of luck and good fortune she bought while on vacation in Jerusalem. She made a pilgrimage to the Holy Land to learn about the roots of her religion and walk the path of Jesus.

Leave a Reply

