The Megan Project

The first photo shows my friend’s bracelet that he wears everyday. Finally I decided to ask him what the significance of it was and he explained, “It’s a form of protection”. He explained to me that it is very common for Hispanic people or people of Caribbean descent to practice Ifa, known to many as Santeria, especially here in South Florida. Orula is a deity called Oricha in their religion, and is looked up to by many.

The second photo shows a necklace that was given to me as my first communion gift from my family. It is very important to me since it was what I held onto through this rite of passage and it lead me to the next one, which was my confirmation. Growing up in a religious family, the cross represents the protection that God has on us. Wherever I go and I am wearing this necklace, it helps me feel safe.

Leave a Reply

