A Piece of the Sky in my Living Room

0.jpg

This was painted by a friend’s mother in an attempt to represent “Las Nubes de Calder”. “Las Nubes de Calder” is a piece of art that is found in the Aula Magna at Universidad Central de Venezuela. College students there dream of being able to stand below them in their graduation day since they represent success, freedom, light and honor. I consider this a religious symbol because prior to moving to the U.S. I was a student there, and all I could dreamt of was standing below these clouds. It was hard for me to cope with the fact that I was not going to graduate from that university, and being able of version of these clouds with me, gave me the strength and motivation I needed not just in the professional aspect but also in the personal one since I was leaving my country behind, and “Las Nubes de Calder” also represent strength, freedom, hope, success, light and honor to the Venezuelan people. I like to think of these clouds as God’s gift to Venzuela, as Venezuela’s own little piece of sky.

Leave a Reply

